Suddenly, I was Listening to Michael Jackson Last Night

You may not believe this, but at about the same time Michael Jackson was dying (and subsequently pronounced dead) about half way round the globe me in this corner of the world just had the urge to start listening to Michael Jackson at the wee hours of the morning.

Mariss my dear friend who was online, in her usual style “What’s up?” thingy, and I replied “chillin listening to MJ”. She went “why MJ?”, I replied “I dunno, it’s been awhile I suppose”.

I woke up this morning and the first sms message that greeted me was from friend who said “MJ is dead, such a sad day for me”. I couldn’t make if that was just a hoax message or not, the next thing I did was to turn on CNN and catch the news. It is for real this time. Well, call it intuition or something, I am just as shocked that MJ is gone at age of 50 just when I was in the mood to groove to his music again.

Do I really think he is the King of Pop? Probably not, but I do think “Thriller” was one of the greatest and a very well titled album because it sure did thrill lots of people, me included. I never give much thoughts to all the antics surrounding his life, – never paid much attention to that. But I sure can tell the world I did see couple of his shows, which was very entertaining, if not the best.

I am very sure there will be lots of talks about his death, so I am not gonna sound like a broken MJ record. Suffice to say, as a performer he was a perfectionist, and if ever there was a one person on earth who could easily be recognised everywhere in the world, it has to be MJ.

May he rest in peace.

My tribute to MJ- Super performance of “Lady in My Life” by Stanley Jordan and MJ himself.

~ by Joe Simple on June 26, 2009.

One Response to “Suddenly, I was Listening to Michael Jackson Last Night”

  1. i was wondering what you thought about his death-i wish that people would have showed him support when he was alive- seems too late now

Leave a comment